R.I.P. Queen Elizabeth II.

It was announced this evening that Her Majesty the Queen has sadly passed away. She was 96 years of age. May she rest in peace.

In the above photograph Her Majesty the Queen is with her late husband HRH Prince Philip and both are waving to the public from the balcony of Hamilton’s Municipal Buildings (Library & Townhouse) at Cadzow Street, Hamilton, South Lanarkshire, Scotland. The Townhouse Offices were officially opened by the Queen’s grandfather King George V on the 9th July, 1914. The Queen and HRH Prince Philip visited Hamilton on Monday , 29th June, 1953, just weeks after her Coronation. The visit was included within her tour of Lanarkshire. After an inspection of the Cameronians (Scottish Rifles), the Queen met with all the necessary dignitaries who were present and then attended a luncheon at the County Buildings in Almada Street.

Written By

Hamilton Historian.

Terence (Terry) Murphy.

2 thoughts on “R.I.P. Queen Elizabeth II.

  1. M J Moffat March 13, 2023 / 3:05 am

    Hello Terry, My Great great grandma Jane Vary (b. 1847) lived at Cazdow Cottage”on the S. side of Union St” & was married there by John Vary. in 1868. Any chance you could post a picture of Union St in the “old days”. I live in Oregon, so can’t visit

    Like

    • Terry Murphy March 15, 2023 / 6:21 pm

      Hi, thanks for your email inquiry. Unfortunately I don’t have any of union street in the early days but you may want to check SLC online museums collection as they might have a few. I will also have a look and if I find any I will I’ll post a photograph article about it. thanks again!

      Like

Leave a comment